Advice on a suitable dedi setup.

Dorkslayz

Hello Guys (and gals),

I'm pretty new to Game Hosting but I know how to host a server using srcds and general web development.

I think that I'm going to get a box in NL the specs are as follows.

HP ProLiant DL120

Intel Quad Core Xeon X3210

4GB DDR2 RAM

2 x 500GB HDD

Windows 2008 R2 Web

5 IP's

1TB Bandwith

100Mbps Line (Full Duplex)

I have a few questions aswell,

I have a choice between Volume network and standard network, Which one shall I choose?

Is my OS compatible with TCAdmin and is it easy to integrate?

Is there a way to Limit a game servers Bandwidth, HDD Space, Line speed and CPU Useage?

What's the normal Game server RAM Useage and what's the Slot to RAM Ratio?

Regards,

Dorkslayz.

I have a choice between Volume network and standard network, Which one shall I choose?

Depends on the provider as to what exactly they mean. But my guess is they are referring to you can be billed 95 percentile, or in total GB used in a month. 95 percentile has the benefit of not paying for your top 5% usage levels, but it can still get very costly. Total GB you pay for everything you use but if you bandwidth levels are very high for 6% or more of the month then it can save you. Which is better is about knowing your bandwidth. Although be careful about companies billing total GB usage as many times they use inferior providers to keep costs down.

Is my OS compatible with TCAdmin and is it easy to integrate?

Yes the OS is compatible, and your ability to run TcAdmin is based off your technical skill level. I found it a piece of cake, but I regularly see posts on here saying that they can't get it to work.

Is there a way to Limit a game servers Bandwidth, HDD Space, Line speed and CPU Useage?