Thieving Customers

DanCF

I had a customer who purchased 4 months of hosting, then towards the end of his subscription, he called his CC company and had a chargeback issued. We process CCs through PayPal, and as usual they surrendered our money to the CC company without seeming to have read the documentation i sent them.

Has anyone else had something similar happen to them? I have thought about seeking legal action, but do you think it would be worth the trouble over $125?

If he did a chargeback there is nothing you can do via Paypal. You will need to contact the card issuing bank and present your documentation etc.. and tell them you are going to file fraud charges against the person.

Depending on what counrty you are located in you may be able to contact a government authority and get them involved as well.

I am no lawyer, so please do not take my words as law. They are simply suggestions you may want to try.

Been there done that, you'll have to consider what your time is worth before chasing after the cash, we've been stung for far more then that by one client. The best you'll get out of the vendor is them dropping the charge back fee's. The rest is between you and a lawyer.

Don't be too shocked if it's not the last time you get stung, remember to record all conversations, and email. You may even want to consider using FraudCall. We use it, has stopped alot of it, although don't be surprised to see the amount of completed orders drop either. Some people just don't like receiving calls.

Honestly, I think there should be a site out there where people post these kind of dingback's personal info to. Something to screen against, and to hurass.

I haven't done something like that yet because I haven't talk to a lawyer, but I figure if they break the contract, you aren't obligated to fullfill your part of it either.

Forunately, I have only had 1 person charge back on me in just over a year of service, but that 1 person really did piss me off.