Need some advise

Cibertec

Hello everyone I'm a noob when it comes to GSP. I'm thinking of having a couple of dedicated servers. I've talked to a co-location company in Atlanta GA since I'm less than 2 hrs from there. They quoted me 4 mps of throughput for $149. Is this a good deal. I already have a computer repair business but have always been a gamer and wanted to run my own servers. I see from reading the forums here that TCAdmin is a must have. I know being a GSP is hard work and I'm ready to take on the challege. Can anyone offer me some good advise. I want to start small even though I know I will lose some money to start of with. Thanks alot in advance.

Also do GSP's run VMWare to host different games or the same game on the same box since you have to have two different IP's or is eveything on the same box?

• Replies 56
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I am happy to see someone that is actually taking some time to do some research before plunging into the GSP biz.

The price you mentioned is pretty standard for bandwidth. It seems to be roughly $30-$40 per meg.

I would suggest posting the providers name here, so you can get some feedback on them. Different carriers offer different bandwidth types in terms of quality.

As an example, steer clear of any company that uses Cogent as a carrier. Cogent is cheaply priced bandwidth that performs ok for webhosting, but is terrible for gamehosting.

You should also formulate a business plan before doing anything. Some things to keep in mind.

1. Server specs. What I need to run the games I want to host?

2. What games do you want to host? Some games have free dedicated server downloads, while others require you buy the actual game CD, and then upload them to the servers.

3. How will I handle billing?

4. What type of payment methods will I take? Paylpal, credit cards, other?

5. What are the costs for a control panel?